Rosemcgowan.com domain name ordered transferred to Rose McGowan
Actress Rose McGowan filed a complaint (Case Number: 1419570) over the domain name <rosemcgowan.com> with the National Arbitration Forum back in December 2011.
Now a three-member panel has ordered the name transferred to Rose McGowan, after finding the domain identical to the common law service mark in her name, that the respondent had no rights or legitimate interests in the domain, and that the domain had been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Respondent is using the website . . . to redirect Internet users to a website that contains information and advertisements . . . . Respondent presumably profits from this use of the confusingly similar disputed domain name in the form of click-through fees. Additionally, Respondent’s use of Complainant’s mark creates a likelihood of confusion regarding the source of the content resolving from the disputed domain name. The Panel finds this is an attempt by Respondent to profit from the goodwill associated with Complainant’s mark. Therefore, the Panel finds Respondent’s attempt to profit from its use of the confusingly similar disputed domain name constitutes registration and use in bad faith pursuant to Policy ¶4(b)(iv).
The full details of the ruling have been released and can be read online here.
You might also be interested in:
- Actress Rose McGowan wants her name, files dispute for rosemcgowan.com Tweet Actress and singer Rose McGowan has apparently filed a...
- Google wins dispute over YouTube typo domains, names ordered transferred Tweet In a no-brainer, a single-member Panel with the National...
- Apple wins dispute over iPods.com, domain name ordered transferred Tweet Updated August 1, 2011: The full administrative panel decision has been posted...
Category: Disputes, National Arbitration Forum, News
















