Disputes News WIPO

Twitter wins dispute over highly trafficked typo domain


Twitter, Inc. has won a dispute over the highly trafficked typo domain name that led visitors to an online scam survey site.

A panel with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) ruled in favor of Twitter. was registered long before became what it is today.  Its first owner registered the domain in 2004, nearly 2 years before Jack Dorsey launched the site. 

However, ever since filing the dispute with WIPO (Case No. D2011-1210), it has seemed to be an open-and-shut case against Geigo Inc (the respondent) who has used the web address for a malicious survey scam.

When resolved to its own web page, it hit over 100,000 unique visitors per month according to a rough traffic estimate by Compete.

But months ago, Geigo (the respondent) began re-directing visitors from to, a scam survey site (pictured above) that looked confusingly similar to Twitter’s own website.  A message on the home page told visitors they had been selected to participate in a three-question survey, and for completing the survey, they would be able to select a prize like an iPhone 4 or iPad 2.  The site attempted to collect personal information such as cell phone numbers and e-mail addresses. 

In July, I wrote about Twitter taking control of  Twitter had originally filed a dispute with WIPO over in June, then days after filing the dispute it added to the same complaint.  For one reason or another, the case was eventually suspended, then terminated, but not before Twitter was able to get

After Twitter took control of, it filed a new complaint (Case No. D2011-1210) in July targeting only the domain name.

Now with the win under its belt, it wouldn’t be surprising to see the company file disputes against other typo domains such as, which uses the same type of redirect to a scam survey site as has used.

Update at 10:34 a.m. ET on Nov. 11: The full administrative panel decision has been posted online.  Twitter Inc. has also filed a new complaint over the domain (with an extra ‘t’).

Discussion: The Next Web, Search Engine Land, The Verge, Softpedia News and Techmeme

Disputes News WIPO

Twitter finally files domain dispute over typo –


Micro blogging site Twitter has filed a domain dispute over the web address with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) this week.

The domain has long tricked visitors who typed in the address by sending them to a confusingly similar looking site.  Currently when you type in in your web browser, you’ll be taken to a website (screenshot above) that tries to lure you into giving your personal information.

In August 2010, reached a high of 125,000 unique visitors according to a rough estimate by Compete.  Recorded traffic dipped after the URL began redirecting visitors to other sites.

According to DomainTools, the name was first registered in 2004, nearly 2 years before Jack Dorsey launched the site.  However, the registrant information has changed over the years.

The respondent in the case is currently hidden behind WHOIS privacy.

Registration Service Provided By: PBCRESELLER
Contact: +85.1234567

Domain Name: TWITER.COM

    Domain Admin      
    ID#10760, PO Box 16
    Note – All Postal Mails Rejected, visit
    Nobby Beach
    null,QLD 4218

The only other case filed to date by Twitter Inc with WIPO involved back in 2010, a domain dispute that wasn’t decided by WIPO,  but the company still was successful in having the name transferred. 

As I reported in February, though no decision had been officially announced by WIPO and the case was cancelled, the registrant of is now Twitter, Inc.

Discussion:  Financial Post, TheDomains, Asian Correspondent, The Next Web, and the The Inquisitr.